3. Just a quickie

I love all your comments and I am so pleased you are enjoying my musings. I am having problems getting the wi-fi sorted out here. Apparently I need a dongle. Is it just me or is that word a bit dubious round the edges? It sounds as if it should have a backing track of schoolboy sniggers. Anyhow, I should have said appendage tomorrow and as long as it behaves itself I will be able to upload a new proper sized blog without too much more delay. We do have touch screen monitors next to our beds with internet but I’d say that definition is circa 1980. ‘Smack screen’ or ‘thump screen’ is probably more descriptive of the manoevre required to produce a line of text. But I was willing to put up with the pain and possible risk of RSI just to stay in touch. Finally start chemo tomorrow but more of that little hiccup with the next post. M x

About Margaret Cahill

After diagnosis of Mantle Cell Lymphoma in 2013, I started this blog to stay in touch with friends, family, and and an ever increasing network of lovely people who sent me healing. The readership increased and I ended up blogging for all I was worth to try and stay sane through the chemotherapy and stem cell transplant. Then after I went into remission (thankfully) I was enjoying the writing so much that I have carried on, and the blog seems to have become a bit of a resource for people, which is lovely. The original year of blogs have now been made into a book, Under Cover of Darkness: How I Blogged my Way Through Mantle Cell Lymphoma. It fills in a lot of the gaps between the blogs, and the tone falls somewhere between graveyard humour and explicit details of chemo treatments. I do hope you enjoy it :-) Mxx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 3. Just a quickie

  1. Lisa Gawtry says:

    Sorry things didn’t go well yesterday or today love.hope everything goes well tomorrow.lots of love xx

    Like

  2. Kris Brandt Riske says:

    LOL! Okay, for the somewhat uncivilized Americans (like me and Jack!) reading your blog, what’s a “dongle”? Is that a password? A “backing track of schoolboy sniggers”? Great phrase that I will use in the future….once I know what it means! Much, much good luck and good thoughts for today’s first chemo. xoxo

    Like

    • Yay, back online!!! With my somewhat temperamental dongle. I really someone was joking when they mentioned a dongle. I assumed it was the equivalent of a widget or ‘thingy’ but no, in this context it is a mobile broadband device you plug into your laptop that connects you to the internet wherever you are. However, I think it does also mean ‘plastic thingy’ because I have two dongles on my Hickman line, to which I am now firmly attached, with all kinds of toxic chemicals pouring into my system. Oh well. That’s life. Still think dongle is someone having a laugh at our expense. If anyone on here knows better d enlighten us!

      Like

Leave a Reply

