Stephen and Margaret’s Day by the Sea

Greetings :-)

Well the years of yoga etc have indeed paid off. I went for the lung function tests today and mine are extremely big. An average sized pair of lungs are between 80 – 120 somethings (forgotten what exactly!) and mine are a whopping 148 somethings. SO pleased. Nice and big and strong to withstand the ravages of the chemo, which is what they were worried about.

Thought you would like to see some pics of me and Stephen having our day by the sea at Friars Cliff Beach. We do only live a 10 minute walk from the beach and go there as much as we can, but having a beach hut as a base and spending the whole day gazing out to sea is of course something entirely different…….

Beach Stephen beach2 me

Wishing you all a sunny weekend, when it comes

Mxx

About Margaret Cahill

After diagnosis of Mantle Cell Lymphoma in 2013, I started this blog to stay in touch with friends, family, and and an ever increasing network of lovely people who sent me healing. The readership increased and I ended up blogging for all I was worth to try and stay sane through the chemotherapy and stem cell transplant. Then after I went into remission (thankfully) I was enjoying the writing so much that I have carried on, and the blog seems to have become a bit of a resource for people, which is lovely. The original year of blogs have now been made into a book, Under Cover of Darkness: How I Blogged my Way Through Mantle Cell Lymphoma. It fills in a lot of the gaps between the blogs, and the tone falls somewhere between graveyard humour and explicit details of chemo treatments. I do hope you enjoy it :-) Mxx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Stephen and Margaret’s Day by the Sea

  1. matrixdavis says:

    Hi Margaret,

    It’s so good to hear some better news from you! And it’s also sweet to see you enjoying the better weather.

    Continued prayers and blessings.

    Lve,

    Martin

    Like

  2. Joseph Tomsic says:

    Hi Margaret. Wish we had a beach like that in Tennessee. Nice going on the lung stuff. Thought you would like to know that my most recent scan showed no lymphoma. Wow….from stage IV mantle cell lymphoma, through the chemo, through the bone marrow stem cell transplant at Duke…..to this. I’m only telling you this because you’re going to do even better than me. You’re definitely much younger and Stephen is definitely much better looking than me…..so there you have it. Keep DOING IT like you guys are. Hurray for Stephen.

    Like

    • :-) thank you Joseph! Your comment has come at just the right moment as I am feeling slightly wobbly about the whole process. Not the recovery afterwards but the toxicity and possible damage caused by the the chemo, which is highlighted by having to sign all those horrible forms. I know that is just my mind working overtime and I need to focus on the fact that after this the treatment will be finished and I will be better. It is so good to hear success stories and I am absolutely delighted to hear that your scan is clear. Here’s to life, and to living it to the full! Mxx

      Like

  3. Stephanie says:

    Love the pics, partic one of you in doorway. You’re on the threshold! looking out and forward. Nice one of Stephen too.

    Great news on the lungs. Breathe yourself well!

    Love & Light

    Stephanie

    Like

    • Thank you and you are so right. I must admit I hadn’t noticed the symbolism, which is why doing this blog is so good. I am indeed about to step over the threshold into a brand new cancer free future. And I can’t wait. Much love Mxx

      Like

  4. Dolores. says:

    Dear Margaret, sorry to have left it so long to talk to you…I have had a busy time, so many workshops etc.. I feel like a chipmunk on one of those wheel things… I used to think people of 84 were sooooo old.. now I’m 84 I think why are people telling me to slow down… !!

    Your pictures were delightful and it is so good to know you are getting out and about and enjoyinhg what is laughingly called our summer.

    You are amazing and your spirit is so full of life.. keep up the fight dear we are all with you in this.

    love

    Dolores

    Like

    • Hi Dolores,
      Just thinking about what you do exhausts me – you are an amazing example to us all!
      Thank you for keeping up with the blog in the midst of all your busy-ness. Your support means so much.
      Big hugs
      Margaret x

      Like

  5. Joseph Tomsic says:

    Hi Margaret…..hope you’re having a good day. This seems to be a breakthrough treatment for mantle cell lymphoma and, maybe, you’ll want to ask your doctors about it. I’m asking my doctors, too. This all came up on google. Take care.

    Joe

    Like

    • Hi Joseph,
      Just crawling out from under the effects of all the chemo so this is the first time i have been online for a while. Did you attach a link to your email? Couldn’t see anything….
      Warm wishes
      Margaret

      Like

Leave a Reply

